Processing – The start – Session 1

Today we were introduced to the world of processing, simply put, I’m not feeling confident about this unit, mainly due to the fact that I see myself as more of a visual designer rather than a coder, seeing as this is the case it is therefore of upmost importance that I pay full attention to what is being taught as i’m aware of my weaknesses here. As explained by my lecturer it’s important to understand how processing works even as a designer.

In today’s session we learnt the basic commands such as creating a canvas, background, line and rectangle. We even extended into looking into altering the stroke weight of the line and eventually creating an application which was responsive to the mouse when it was positioned in the canvas, I’ve attached the code and result below.

Code for my first application, a major issue for me was forgetting to include semi-colons at the end of each line!
Code for my first application, a major issue for me was forgetting to include semi-colons at the end of each line!

The application I made from the code is shown below.

Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 12.31.29

Despite numerous issues when going through the lecture (often caused by the lack of a semi-colon at the end of a line) I found the workshop fascinating, I was aware partly of what processing has been used for however it never occurred to me how easy it is to pick up processing and feel like you’d actually accomplished something, no matter how basic in the space of two hours, this has motivated me to look deeper into processing outside of studio time and see what else I can achieve, also as explained by my lecturer, it’s worth dabbling with the code we create in studio time so we can independently learn how to change alternative variables and functions so we ourselves learn how to use processing faster, this is something I plan to do over the next week until the next studio session.

Leave a Reply

