Processing Project – Installation research

Moving on from my initial ideas of interactivity in design, I’ve began developing an interest in how branding and the ‘branded’ image has become more and more of a socio-cultural necessity. I feel this is also a growing trait amongst us as consumers but also one which I don’t feel has had proper exposure and coverage due to its subtlety in integrating it into society and culture today.

Moving on from the idea I’ve spoken about before regarding the Nokia 4D projections I feel as branding and brands e.g. logos are a visual statement my project will need to be visually impactful, using processing I have witnessed how it’s possible to achieve a great deal with a surprisingly small amount of code which has certainly provoked a great deal of optimism within myself regarding my capabilities to master this language.

My current idea is to attempt to make a wall of logos which will light up/appear according to the colour of the clothing a person is wearing (who can be detected using a webcam), at present, I’m still in the process of deciding whether or not to track a person’s top and bottom garments however I feel when prototyping the project it will become clearer to me what can and can’t be achieved. As well as this my current practical issues with the project will be detecting one or two colours from an individual bearing in mind they will of course be constantly changing location either by walking or swaying slightly as they stand.

Here is a gif image to show how the windows 8 live tiles in action, I like how they shift and change and feel the flat, modern design of the operating system is something I will model my own project on, this uses a design method already seen as 'good' and 'current' and should therefore be something the audience find appealing and want to interact with.
Here is a gif image to show how the windows 8 live tiles in action, I like how they shift and change and feel the flat, modern design of the operating system is something I will model my own project on, this uses a design method already seen as ‘good’ and ‘current’ and should therefore be something the audience find appealing and want to interact with.

Image source –

Accessed from – http://www.hanselman.com/blog/MakeAWindows81PinnedLiveTileForYOURWebsiteInMinutes.aspx (Date accesed -)

The inspiration behind this idea came from viewing operating systems like ‘Windows 8’ and it’s live tile approach to making a more user friendly desktop design, I liked the way the tiles changed and shifted independently and i feel it adds visual appeal. I feel my interest in branding has stemmed from University life, I’ve found increasingly in events like ‘freshers fair’ and other general ‘fair’ type events have involved so many brands trying to get the attention of students and over time my attention shifted to how much we are bombarded by brands and the industry itself has almost become a case of who can shout the loudest rather than who makes the best product, something which is arguably business minded however I feel not conducive for a fair and just society, in my project I plan to challenge this and raise this awareness of how shallow I feel we have become as consumers, challenging people to think deeper about what they buy or go to for information and why, and then if or if not it is intact the best way to do so.

Leave a Reply

