Design Iterations – Interactive Installation research

‘Create a piece of interaction information design for a shared public space, which is intended to elucidate/explain some an idea or concept you perceive as key to our 21st century media experience’

This is the brief we’ve been given to work towards in this part of the semester.

Reading the brief is of upmost importance with projects and I feel it is necessary for my own understanding to make notes on the brief and take the most useful parts of it to then refine it further to ensure I understand the project we have been given.

The project should ‘reflect ideas you have encountered in both media theory and design practise throughout the course so far’ encompassing ideas of ‘ubiquity, abstraction and convergence’ in media.

I find the concept of this brief fascinating, I have witnessed and had an interest in interactive installations for years, one particular installation that I remember watching countless times was the 4D projection Nokia created to launch the Nokia Lumia 800. 4D projection mapping was used for the first time on such a scale creating a full size image on one of the faces of the ‘Millbank tower’ in London back in 2011. Since then I have always found interactive installations fascinating and have wanted to create something of my own.

Here’s the performance by Nokia UK (accessed – 12th November 2014)

From this video I plan to explore what can be done using colour and visual art to create my project, I feel as we have access to the screens in Weymouth house it would be a good idea to try and use them to showcase a heavily visual project, furthermore, I plan to investigate further into processing sketches made by the general public, websites such as ‘openprocessing.org’ offer a large public platform for users to upload and share their sketches, I will use the time I have to look into this and try to narrow down my ideas into something that is both realistic and fits the brief set.

Leave a Reply

