Processing Project Update – Could be better… Could be worse!

So far I am comfortable with the progress I have made towards completing my processing project, I have a plan in place to guide me through my work using ‘pseudo-code’ to map out the steps towards completing the project. i have found this to be an incredibly useful step to take as it has allowed me (as a visual learner) to visually take apart the steps of the project and view my progress. Furthermore by doing so I am hoping to ensure I do not miss out any key or necessary steps in the project which may hinder me later on in the project and result in me not using my time efficiently.

At present I am struggling to take the next step with the project where I transition into using the webcam on my laptop (which will later be a dedicated webcam in the final presentation of the project in Weymouth house) as it involves using various tutorials online as well as a few steps of me working more independently with Processing which I still do not feel entirely comfortable with. To try and resolve this issue I plan to put forward my problems to my lecturer in the workshop tomorrow (Friday 9:30am) and ask for his help to guide me through this process (if you’ll pardon the awful but necessary pun).

I should also be aware that documenting my work is of upmost importance, I attended a lecturer today which concentrated on the importance of not only blogging about my work but also creating and updating regularly a log which I can informally add to along the process of this project which will allow me to see exactly how i have worked through the project including how I was able to fix any problems I had, a useful habit to get into regarding working in a professional environment.

Below is an example of how i have used Processing to successfully illuminate the ‘Skype’ logo using the MouseX and MouseY co-ordinates to directly change the colour values of the logo from 0, 0, 0 (rgb) to 0, 170, 240 which gives the colour of the ‘Skype’ logo.

Here shown is the code I have used to create the first stages of my project, below this will be a video showing the result of this code. At present i am using the mouse to change the values of colour, in the next stages I will instead use the webcam to do so.
Here shown is the code I have used to create the first stages of my project, below this will be a video showing the result of this code. At present i am using the mouse to change the values of colour, in the next stages I will instead use the webcam to do so.

Skype practise from Oliver Evans on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

