Processing Project – Testing

Below is a video of myself testing the project in its final stage, In the code below I created a visual guide to allow myself to test my project and view how my interaction is directly changing the tint of the logos, as well as this, for the purposes of the video it was important to demonstrate how the tint of each logo was directly affected by me or anyone’s movements.

processing practise final with oli webcam from Oliver Evans on Vimeo.

By using an 'if' function in processing I could view what the webcam actually saw allowing me to test how the logo board reacted to different movements.
By using an ‘if’ function in processing I could view what the webcam actually saw allowing me to test how the logo board reacted to different movements.
Here, the function 'voidtestDraw' was drawn to the canvas to give a small (160, 120) sized window allowing me to see what the webcam sees.
Here, the function ‘voidtestDraw’ was drawn to the canvas to give a small (160, 120) sized window allowing me to see what the webcam sees.

When testing the project I found it to work as expected, this was pleasant, considering the past experiences I’ve had during this project of random errors. From this I now plan to take the project to Weymouth house to present and test the project on a live audience.

One issue I am aware of which I am unable to resolve at this current point is that when presenting my installation I need to be careful of any thermal throttling which may occur when the CPU (Central Processing Unit) in my laptop is put under intense stress, after extended periods of time of the project being open my laptop has sometimes slowed meaning the application can slow down causing some lag and stuttering in the installation, however given that the brief does not state how long the installation needs to be presented for I am un-phased by this issue as it is functional and can work without fail for over 10 minutes, giving multiple users enough time to engage with the installation.

One more thing I am interested to test when in the foyer of Weymouth house is how the installation looks when picking up people further away from the camera. Although earlier in my blog I have commented on how I wanted to try and achieve a smoother flow of colours in the installation I now feel differently. I feel if the logos were to change colour quickly or flash when they pick up movement it will only draw the user in further before they engage with the installation, I feel this way because the screens are located towards the corner of the Weymouth house foyer meaning I will need to draw in people into interacting with my installation, therefore faster colour changes will only create more contrast and therefore a greater visual appeal in my installation.

Leave a Reply

